Phase 3 of the study of the purifying capacity of the Malamani mangrove in Mayotte

Introduction

Treating domestic wastewater is a worldwide challenge. With the huge increase in world population, our need for water is constantly growing, leading to the mass production of wastewater. This issue results in a number of difficulties relating to sanitary risks and to the pollution of natural environments (M. Herteman, 2010, doctoral thesis from the University of Toulouse).

IMGP3563

Aerial view of the Malamani mangrove site

Mayotte, the 101st French department, located in the Mozambique Channel to the north-east of Madagascar, is in no way left out of this issue. Mayotte is also currently facing a demographic boom, and is suffering its consequences: socio-economic, technical and environmental difficulties. Within this framework, Mayotte’s Intercommunal Water and Purification Syndicate started searching for domestic wastewater treatment solutions, including bioremediation. Jointly with EcoLab-CNRS since 2006, a pilot purification project – based on the purifying capacity of Mayotte’s coastal mangroves – has been implemented: the goal is to assess the mangrove’s bioremediation capacity when filtering domestic pre-treated wastewater, and how it could contribute to developing this ecosystem of high ecological and heritage value, whilst considering that it is also subject to high anthropogenic pressure.

The first phase was implemented between 2006 and 2010, and the conclusions proved that mangroves had real self-purification capacities (M. Herteman, 2010), but that many questions remained to be answered, namely regarding the effect of nitrogen- and phosphorus-based polluting agents on the future of crab populations. The research phase required in-depth and long-term work, to be able to assess the impact on the ecosystem and in upcoming experiments. Within this framework, phase 2 was implemented between 2011 and 2013, funded by the Ministry for Ecology. Results showed that mangroves would not able to absorb all nutrients (nitrogen and phosphorus) in the long-term, meaning that a change in the purification process was required.

DSCN5501

We are currently in phase 3 of the project, the purpose of which is to define the rejection conditions into the mangroves of effluents that were pre-treated by purification plants, and to stipulate the various monitoring processes that need to be implemented for the mangrove to become a potential receiving environment, just like rivers or lagoons are. The focus is also set on characterizing microbial communities (diversity, structure, role in the nitrogen cycle), and on analyzing the sediments’ meiofauna – which is a potential bio-indicator of the environment’s exposure to wastewater. This last phase, funded by ONEMA, began in January 2014 and is being conducted in partnership with SIEAM (site implementation and maintenance), the EcoLab laboratory (CNRS Toulouse – National Scientific Research Center) in charge of designing the experiments and research section, the Mayotte University Center (crab eco-physiology) and the Mayotte Marine Park (co-funding).

Treatment devices

Image1The devices are made up of a wastewater collection network, a primary treatment unit (lift station, collection tank, decanter-digester and buffer tank) and a spreader system (the pre-treated wastewater is rejected into experimental sections in a controlled manner, and is monitored in four different experimental tanks (each measuring 147.6 x 49.2 ft.) with 2 different plant bases (Rhizophora mucronata and Ceriops tagal). Two sections receive wastewater and the two others are sample tanks. Rejections are slowly sprinkled through 3 rows of pipes, pierced every 6.5 feet, one hour before low tide, every other tide (M. Herteman, 2010).

 

Observation and measurement devices

All the mangrove’s “functional compartments” are considered: the plant (diversity, structure, function), the sediment, the water, the fauna (crabs, meiofauna) and microbial communities.

In each section, quadrats for analyzing plant structure, forest litter collectors (for monitoring productivity), a network of piezometers (for monitoring salt levels, water dynamics and physico-chemistry) and permanent quadrats for monitoring crab populations (diversity, density) were installed. Measurements are regularly taken on-site for monitoring, sampling and analysis purposes.

Expected results

IMGP3892_2 2– Defining the mangrove’s resilience after having been subjected for several years to domestic wastewater rejections (crab populations, plants, accumulation and assimilation of nitrogen and phosphorus, etc.),

– Defining which bio-markers can be used to monitor Mayotte’s mangroves, subjected to anthropogenic pressure, and foreseeing possible tolerance thresholds,

– Support to the leading collective wastewater purification scheme, by offering an operational hand-over of the experience gained in Malamani to other sites, after assessment of their potential and after having defined the monitoring conditions (waste water treatment plant processes and productivity to be complied with, etc.),

– Achieving in-depth knowledge of mangroves and their purification capacity, namely by analyzing:

  • The plants’ dynamics and functioning (growth, photosynthetic efficiency, productivity),
  • The absorption potential of organic polluting agents,
  • Nitrogen and phosphorus cycles in the mangroves,
  • Benthic population features (micro-fauna and meiofauna),
  • Crab eco-toxicology.

Phase 3 calendar:

January 2014 to December 31, 2016

Partners:

– SIEAM (Mayotte’s Intercommunal Water and Purification Syndicate): project leader – owner of all installations,

– ONEMA (French National Agency for Water and Aquatic Environments): main financing body,

– EcoLab-CNRS/University of Toulouse: mangrove specialist, designer of the pilot site and all experiments, in charge of research,

– Mayotte Marine Park: research and pollutant analysis partner,

– University of Mayotte: research partner specialized in crab eco-toxicology,

– Conservatoire du littoral: owner of the mangrove.

 

Image1   Image6 Image5 Image4 Image3 Image2 Conservatoire du littoral Logo ONEMA Image7

Contacts :

François FROMARD (francois.fromard@univ-tlse3.fr)

Christophe RIEGEL (christophe.riegel@sieam.fr)

Kissimati ABDALLAH (kissimati.abdallah@sieam.fr)

Contact

Cité administrative
de Circonvallation
Rue Alexandre Buffon
97100 BASSE-TERRE
05 90 81 81 29
gaelle.vandersarren@uicn.fr

Other resource centers

Phase 3 de l’étude de la capacité épuratrice de la mangrove de Malamani à Mayotte

Introduction

Le traitement des eaux usées domestiques est un enjeu d’ordre mondial. Avec l’accroissement des populations, les besoins en eau ne cessent d’augmenter, entraînant une forte production d’eaux usées. Cette problématique engendre des difficultés liées aux risques sanitaires et à la pollution des milieux naturels (M. HERTEMAN, 2010, thèse de doctorat de l’Université de Toulouse).

IMGP3563

Vue aérienne sur le site de la mangrove de Malamani

Mayotte, 101ème département français situé dans le canal de Mozambique au nord-est de Madagascar ne demeure pas en reste pour cette problématique. De plus, Mayotte doit faire face à une explosion démographique avec toutes les conséquences qui en découlent : difficultés socio-économiques, techniques et environnementales. C’est dans ce cadre que le Syndicat Intercommunal d’Eau et d’Assainissement de Mayotte s’est investi dans la recherche de solutions de traitement des eaux usées domestiques dont la bioremédiation. En collaboration avec EcoLab-CNRS depuis 2006, un projet pilote d’assainissement utilisant la capacité épuratrice des mangroves littorales de Mayotte a été mis en place : l’objectif est d’évaluer la capacité de bioremédiation de la mangrove vis-à-vis des eaux usées domestiques prétraitées et de contribuer à valoriser cet écosystème à haute valeur écologique et patrimoniale, lui-même soumis à une pression anthropique importante.

Une première phase s’est déroulée de 2006 à 2010, les conclusions ont montré une réelle capacité d’autoépuration de la mangrove (M. HERTEMAN, 2010) mais des questions restaient sans réponse, notamment sur le bilan des pollutions azotées et phosphorées et sur le devenir des populations de crabes. La phase recherche a nécessité un approfondissement dans la durée pour pouvoir juger des impacts sur l’écosystème et dans les expériences à mener. C’est dans ce cadre qu’une phase 2 a été mise en place de 2011 à 2013 financée par le Ministère de l’écologie. Les résultats montrent que la mangrove ne serait pas capable d’absorber la totalité des nutriments (azote et phosphore) sur le long terme, une modification du process épuratoire a donc été nécessaire.

DSCN5501

Aujourd’hui, nous sommes dans la phase 3 du projet dont l’objectif est de définir les conditions de rejets des effluents prétraités par des stations d’épuration dans la mangrove et d’indiquer les suivis à mettre en place afin que la mangrove puisse être un milieu récepteur potentiel au même titre que les rivières ou le lagon. L’accent est mis également sur la caractérisation des communautés microbiennes (diversité, structure, rôle dans le cycle de l’azote), ainsi que sur l’analyse de la méiofaune des sédiments, bio-indicateur potentiel de l’exposition du milieu aux eaux usées. Cette dernière phase, financée par l’ONEMA, a débuté en janvier 2014 et se réalise en partenariat entre le SIEAM (mise en place et maintenance du site), le laboratoire EcoLab (CNRS Toulouse) responsable de la conception des expérimentations et du volet recherche, le Centre Universitaire de Mayotte (écophysiologie des crabes) et le Parc Marin de Mayotte (cofinancement).

Dispositif de traitement

Image1Le dispositif est composé d’un réseau de collecte des eaux usées, d’une unité de traitement primaire (poste de relevage, cuve de réception, décanteur-digesteur et bassin tampon) et d’un système d’épandage (les eaux prétraitées sont rejetées dans les parcelles expérimentales de façon contrôlée et faisant l’objet de suivis sur quatre parcelles expérimentales (45 x 15 m chacune) dans 2 faciès de végétation différents (Rhizophora mucronata et Ceriops tagal). Deux parcelles reçoivent les eaux usées et deux autres sont les témoins équivalents. Les rejets se font par aspersion lente au moyen de 3 rampes de tuyaux percés tous les 2 m, une heure avant la marée basse et une marée basse sur deux (M. HERTEMAN, 2010).

Dispositif d’observation et de mesure

L’ensemble des « compartiments fonctionnels » de la mangrove sont pris en comptes : la végétation (diversité, structure, fonctionnement), le sédiment, l’eau, la faune (crabes, méïofaune), les communautés microbiennes.

Dans chacune des parcelles sont installés des quadras d’analyse de structure de la végétation, des collecteurs de litières (suivi de la productivité), un réseau de piézomètres (suivi de la salinité, de la dynamique hydrique, de la physico chimie) et des quadras permanents pour le suivi des populations de crabes (diversité, densité). Des campagnes de mesures sont régulièrement effectuées sur site pour les divers suivis, prélèvements et analyses.

Résultats attendus

– Définir la capacité de résilience de la mangrove après avoir été soumise pendant IMGP3892_2 2plusieurs années à des rejets d’eaux usées domestiques (population de crabes, végétation, accumulation et assimilation de l’azote et du phosphore,…),

– Définir des bio-marqueurs permettant de suivre les mangroves de Mayotte soumises à des pressions anthropiques et anticiper d’éventuels seuils de tolérance,

– Appui au schéma directeur d’assainissement collectif des eaux usées en proposant un passage opérationnel de l’expérience de Malamani à d’autres sites, après évaluation de leur potentiel et définition des conditions de suivi (process et rendement de STEP à respecter,…),

– Approfondissement de la connaissance des mangroves et de leur capacité épuratrice avec notamment :

  • Dynamique et fonctionnement de la végétation (croissance, efficacité photosynthétique, productivité),
  • Potentiel d’absorption des polluants organiques,
  • Cycle de l’azote et du phosphore en mangrove,
  • Caractérisation des peuplements benthiques (microfaune et méiofaune),
  • Eco-toxicologie des crabes.

Calendrier de la phase 3

Janvier 2014 au 31 décembre 2016

Partenaires

SIEAM (Syndicat Intercommunal d’Eau et d’Assainissement de Mayotte) : Maître d’ouvrage- propriétaire des installations,

ONEMA : principal financeur,

EcoLab-CNRS/Université de Toulouse : spécialiste de la mangrove, concepteur du site pilote et des expérimentations, responsable de la partie recherche,

Parc marin de Mayotte : partenaire recherche et analyse polluants,

Université de Mayotte : partenaire recherche spécialiste éco-toxicologie des crabes,

Conservatoire du littoral : propriétaire de la mangrove.

Image1   Image6 Image5 Image4 Image3 Image2 Conservatoire du littoral Logo ONEMA Image7

Contacts :

François FROMARD (francois.fromard@univ-tlse3.fr)

Christophe RIEGEL (christophe.riegel@sieam.fr)

Kissimati ABDALLAH (kissimati.abdallah@sieam.fr)

Contact

Cité administrative
de Circonvallation
Rue Alexandre Buffon
97100 BASSE-TERRE
05 90 81 81 29
gaelle.vandersarren@uicn.fr

Les autres Pôles-relais